2016 IEEE Long Island Awards


Welcome speech – Peter Eckstein


Keynote Speech – Donna Linke-Klein


MC and Chair – M. Nazrul Islam

The IEEE Long Island Section is the largest engineering society on Long Island, New York, with over 2,000 engineering professionals. IEEE members from a wide range of industries work tirelessly to further the advancement of technology, making Long Island a center of innovation.

The Section organized the Annual Awards Banquet on March 31, 2016, in order to recognize the accomplishments of some extraordinary Engineers who contributed significantly towards the growth of the Section and the Region. At the beautiful facility of Fox Hollow at 7725 Jericho Turnpike, Woodbury, NY 11797, the program began at 5:30 pm with cocktail hour. Then the awards ceremony and dinner took place in the banquet hall beginning 7:00 pm.

The program started with a welcome speech made by Peter Alan Eckstein, the IEEE-USA President. It was followed by the keynote speech by a distinguished Engineering Executive, Ms. Donna Linke-Klein, of BAE Systems Greenlawn site, who spoke on “Innovation – Everyone Can Do It”.

The Section recognized all the volunteers with a plaque/certificate who dedicated their time and effort in running different Society Chapters of the Section efficiently. Then nine Section awardees were honored for their outstanding contributions to their fields. They include:

  1. Long Island Section Alex Gruenwald Award
    Mr. John Dunn, Ambertec

    Citation: For many outstanding presentations on analog design to the IEEE Long Island Consultants Network

  2. Long Island Section Charles Hirsch Award
    Mr. Gerald Klahn, Frequency Electronics

    Citation: For innovative contributions to the design and development of advanced radio frequency space and communications systems

  3. Long Island Section Lifetime Achievement Award
    Mr. Donald Christiansen

    Citation: For a lifetime of service to the engineering profession as the long-time editor and publisher of IEEE Spectrum, numerous papers including engineering ethics, and originating the Micromouse competition

  4. Long Island Section Athanasios Papoulis Outstanding Educator Award
    Dr. John Fiorillo, Farmingdale State College

    Citation: For exemplary teaching, IEEE Student Branch leadership and the creation of a student scholarship fund in conjunction with the Long Island Systems, Applications, and Technology (LISAT) conference

  5. Long Island Section Harold Wheeler Award
    Mr. Richard Frazita, Telephonics

    Citation: For managerial and technical leadership in the development of airborne imaging radars and IFF interrogator systems

  6. Long Island Section Outstanding Young Engineer Award
    Mr. Joe M. Carrano, Telephonics

    Citation: For outstanding contributions to military electronic systems software

  7. Long Island Section Outstanding Volunteer of the Year Award
    Mr. Charles A. Pleckaitis

    Citation: For outstanding efforts and accomplishments in assisting members who seek employment

  8. Friend of the IEEE Long Island Section Award
    Interdigital Corp.

    Citation: For generous financial support of the Long Island Systems and Technology (LISAT) conference for many years

  9. Outstanding Student Branch Award
    Stony Brook University IEEE Student Chapter

    Citation: For exceptional efforts to promote the electrical engineering field among its members and beyond

The Section also commended the Tesla Science Center at Wardenclysse for its stimulating innovation and honor Nikola Tesla for the creation of a world-class science, technology and engineering educational facility and museum.

After dinner, the Section recognized highly the exemplary contributions of six IEEE Region 1 awardees for their excellent achievements at the Region level. They include:

  1. Managerial Excellence in an Engineering Organization
    Mr. Sheldon Brown

    Citation: For managerial leadership in the development, implementation and production of IFF interrogator systems

  2. Technical Innovation (Industry and Government)
    Mr. Tommaso Vulpis

    Citation: For outstanding technical achievements in the design and development of high-frequency Dielectric Resonator Oscillators for satellite systems

  3. Technical Innovation (Industry and Government)
    Mr. Justin Maloney-Hahn

    Citation: For innovative Airborne Radar and IFF subsystem architectures for Size, Weight and Power (SWaP) constrained applications

  4. Technical Innovation (Industry and Government)
    Mr. Michael F. Ciardullo

    Citation: For the development of innovative microwave components and subsystems for satellite communications and electronic warfare systems

  5. Enhancement of the relationship between IEEE and industry
    Dr. M. Nazrul Islam, Farmingdale State College

    Citation: For outstanding service to the IEEE Long Island Systems Applications and Technology (LISAT) Conference while serving as its Publications Chairman

  6. Enhancement of the IEEE or Engineering Profession’s Image with the Public
    Mr. William F. Wilkes

    Citation: For creative outreach initiatives with retired engineers by encouraging the formation of senior engineer clubs


Current and Past Chairs of the Section

The Section greatly appreciates the excellent support from various organizations in terms of sponsorships and advertisements, including Retlif, Stony Brook University, Telephonics, Harris Corp., L3 Narda Miteq, BAE Systems(Greenlawn), Farmingdale State College, Long Island Consultants Network (LICN), New York Institute of Technology (NYIT), Keysight Technologies, Project Management Institute Long Island, NY Chapter (PMILIC), Advance Technical Marketing, Superior Technical Solutions Corp., John Vodopia, PC, Contech Marketing Associates, Applied Visions.